Arise…

Arise to a new life

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I can read a scripture in the Bible many times before and then one day, poof, I see that scripture in a whole new light. That is what happened to me about a week ago.

One of my friends had quoted Isaiah 60:1 from the Amplified Version. I have read this same verse many times before in the NKJV, but never in the Amplified version.

Wow.. It was like reading it for the first time.

According to AMP version of Isaiah 60:1, “Arise from the depression and prostration in which circumstances have kept you- rise to a new life. Shine, be radiant with the glory of the Lord for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you.”

When dealing with fear, depression or anxiety, often we feel so beaten down, worthless and just plain tired, that we often will just give up and stay in that same place of pain. Think about a time when you have felt just that way.. What was going on in your life? Was it a marriage issue, financial issue or a problem with your self esteem? Whatever it was, God doesn’t want us to live in the place of depression or “prostration”, which according to Dictionary.com means extreme mental or emotional depression or dejection.

Usually when we are in a state of despair, this leads to depression, anxiety and often other emotional problems, which God does not want us to carry around.

I love the scripture in Isaiah because it says.. ARISE from the depression then Shine and to be radiant with the Glory Of God.

Our lives are meant for so much more than we often can ever think or imagine, yet when we are in the trenches fighting daily battles with stress, anxiety, fear or family issues, often we forget that our God is bigger than any problem we face.

Desperation often leads us to finally say we have had enough. That is the point I reached after so much turmoil in my own family through so many family members suicides and then the murder of my grandmother. Over time, it seemed one battle became two battles and on and on. I never could recover from the first traumatic experience before there was another one just on the horizon. One battle of loss through suicide would have been enough for anyone to handle, but through 3 losses of family and then the murder of my grandmother by my grandfather, I was done.. Poke me with a fork… Done. Done. Done. I couldn’t take anymore yet here came something else before I was even able to recover from all of that.

Life happened just like life happens for everyone. I often wonder what the lesson was from all of that other than for me to learn how strong I truly am with God on my side. I didn’t believe I was strong because for most of my life, I didn’t see myself that way, but when faced with a battle or something horrendous happening, my fighting shoes are put on and I am ready to face the battle.

We can’t give up no matter what situation you find yourself in today. I have been in a fight most of my life, and many times I wanted to give up. I am thankful that I keep pushing forward and believing God had a plan for my life that I often still don’t quite understand or know for sure, yet I keep walking and keep fighting.

Today, I pray that you arise out of the depression and emotional pain you are feeling. I know the pain is overwhelming at times but please remember, God is in control and He is there holding your hand. Battles are just part of life, whether we ever understand the purpose this side of heaven or not, we will still have them. I will never understand the murder of my grandmother and all of the other family lost to suicide, but I pray one day that I will have some deeper understanding. Maybe it is only that I can tell my story to help someone else dealing with similar issues.

Lord, I lift up every person reading this today. Whatever is holding them back from arising to the heights you have for them, break those chains today. We bind the enemy from continuing to keep us bond to fear, anxiety or depression. Your Word is stronger than anything the enemy can ever plot against us, and today, Lord I ask that you keep us in your perfect will. Guide us and direct us in the way we should go and lead us not into temptation. We are your children and we ask that YOU guide us and help us know the depths of your love. Thank you for all you have done in my life in breaking the hold of fear in my life. I ask that you continue to work in my life and continue to give me peace and purpose in my life.

 

2 comments

  1. hey ang I just wanted to say Thank you for all the advise that you have always given me throughout my life and teaching me so much about the word of god. I have always come to you with my problems and you have always been there to listen and not judge me and I thank you for that. I love you more than you know and will always think of you as a mother to me. Thank you. Love you.

Leave a Reply

