Broken and Beautiful

Broken: According to Dictionary.com, broken is defined as:

not functioning properly

ruptured, torn or reduced to fragments

Life sometimes hands us our life in broken pieces. Maybe it wasn’t intentional on our part, but we just end up having so many broken pieces that we don’t know if we will ever recover. Pieces are not wasted in God’s eyes.

Even when we it appears that nothing more can be done in our lives, God is still there working behind the scenes to continue to draw us closer to Him, make us more like Him and lead us on the path that HE designed for each of us personally.

Broken pieces can come in more forms such as:

  1. divorce
  2. suicide
  3. murder
  4. adulter
  5. wayward children
  6. financial pressures
  7. dysfunction in extended family
  8. employment issues
  9. health issues
  10. faith issues

Nothing in this life is going to be easy, yet often as Christians we believe we are immune to problems; or we should be. But God says in this life we will have trials and tribulation according to James 1:2. Trials are part of life, unfortunately. Broken pieces often result from these same trials, but that does not mean God cannot later use them for His glory and His good just as it says in Romans 8:28. ” And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” God’s purpose is always for our good, even when we feel the world is crumbling around us.

I know, personally this feeling on many levels. When I lost my brother-in-law to suicide. Then again when I lost my grandmother to murder by my grandfather, who then took his own life. My world certainly felt like it was crumbling to the ground during those times, but I have also had health issues, financial issues, dysfunction in my family, employment problems and on and on just like most everyone else.

Yet, today I can tell you that none of the “broken” have resulted in my life being any less valuable to God and I am finally understanding that is what has definetly made me the person I am today.

I want to offer you hope today.

  1. Remember, even when you feel the world is against you; God is for you.
  2. Even when you feel like you can’t go another day in the situation you are in now; God is walking beside you holding your hand.
  3. Even if you aren’t sure where your next meal will come from; God is going to provide.
  4. Even if you are not sure if you are loved; God sent His only son to die on the cross for YOU so you are definetly loved.

I want to leave you with a quote that I read many years ago and it has been one of my favorites.

THE WORLD BREAKS EVERYONE, AND THOSE WHO ARE BROKEN ARE STRONGEST IN THE BROKEN PLACES.

Lord, You are our ever present help in times of need. We ask that you help us to see our broken places as a place for newness to begin. You have a good plan, even though at times we must go through pain to get to the BEST You have for us. Help us to not lose hope or faith but to continue to move forward in our walk you have set us on at this time. Our future is still open and the possibilites are endless for what our lives hold, even from the broken. I am thankful Lord that even when I felt that the broken was the end of me, You once again picked me up and led me to a “new” place in my life. Help those reading this to find the same hope in YOU Lord.

2 comments

  1. Thankyou for this. I’ve just read your story and I think you have such a powerful testimony; so much to share.
    ‘THE WORLD BREAKS EVERYONE, AND THOSE WHO ARE BROKEN ARE STRONGEST IN THE BROKEN PLACES.’ I like this. I once heard someone say that only broken pots allow the perfume to flow out. Our God is in the business of restoration but there is beauty in our scars.
    Thankyou.

  2. Helen, Thank you for the kind words. I did not see this post until today. I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I am still learning this blog stuff. LOL. God Bless You. I hope you continue to follow the blog.

Leave a Reply

