Blog Hop: The Next Big Thing

Today my blog is part of something bigger than usual. Last week, Linda Lochridge invited me to be a part of the blog hop called The Next Big Thing. I want to be a blessing to other authors, so I decided to try it. The purpose is to help readers discover the next great book or author; i.e. the one they will be compelled to read or the author whose work they simply can’t put down. Check out Linda’s memoir, which she writes on her blog at http://www.lindalochridge.com.

What is exciting about this blog hop is the opportunity to learn about authors from various genres and styles. Her work might just be the next big thing, or perhaps mine will be (my dream come true, of course).

I was asked to answer the following ten questions in my next blog post:

1. What is the working title of your book?
Step Out of Your Past and Into Your Wonderful Future

2. Where did you get the idea for your book?
I am writing my story of abuse, medical neglect, being a teenage mother, to a fearful, anxious and eventually agoraphobic woman. Through it all, God was walking with me, even when I felt alone.

3. What genre does your book fall under?
Memoir

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Since I first saw Julia Roberts, she has been one of my favorites, so it would be awesome to have her play me in a movie. She is such a phenomenal actress and is such a sweet person as well.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? From my earliest memory of about age 5, I only knew abuse, neglect, fear, and anxiety, yet over time the life I knew only became worse through a out of wedlock pregnancy, a life full of 3 family members suicides and one murder, as well as emotional abuse, I became a total agoraphobic, anxious, fearful woman. God had a bigger plan which has allowed me to find freedom through Him and His Word.
(It is hard to say in one sentence)

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I would not be opposed to self-publishing but I would hope to obtain an agent if possible. Self-publishing is so easily obtainable in this day of technology, so this would certainly be a possibility if an agent is not found.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I am still in the process. It is a long process to work through the healing of writing your life story. I am writing about my journey on my blog and often it is a blog or two about my story, then I focus on something else for a period of time. It helps break up the process of writing sometimes painful, emotional memories.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Lucinda Bassett , Truth Be Told
Mary DeMuth, Thin Places

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?
My grandmother was my biggest supporter. She was murdered by my grandfather who then took his own life, yet I know she would want me to tell my story of healing, forgiveness and freedom. God was her best friend and I am thankful she led me to the Lord. Without her influence, I am not sure where my life would be today because it was not an easy life for me growing up as a child.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I truly believe that God is always wanting the best for us, yet often we get in our own way or often, another person keeps us from living the life God has called us to live. According to Galatians 5:7-8, “You were running the race so well. WHO has held you back from following the truth? It certainly isn’t God, for HE is the one who called you to freedom.” I want to offer the reader hope that no matter what the beginning of your life journey has been, God has the final say on how it turns out. Follow your dream and work to make the rest of your life better than the beginning…

Next week, please take the opportunity to hop on over to the blog listed below:

dana

Dana Arcuri writes at http://writing4theheart-n-soul.blogspot.com. She is a wife, mother, and a sister, but first and foremost she is a daughter of her Heavenly Father. Dana is a contributor and Director of Prayer at www.writewhereithurts.org.  Dana is currently writing her book titled, Harvest of Hope: Living Victoriously through Adversity. I know you will be blessed when you read her blog and  be sure and be on the look out for her upcoming book. Please let her know that you stopped by her site. She is such a blessing to me and I am thankful that we are “friends”.

Leave a Reply

