Believe What You See

0267cb91cedd496767b1af86f63c3444

I know that there is a quote that goes something like,

” When people show you who they are: believe them..”

I have certainly learned that lesson today as well as many other times in life..

Of course, we want to believe the best about those we are in contact with daily; whether through our jobs, families or friends, but are we really suppose to let our guard down in every situation.

I know I have found myself to be:

too trusting

too needy

too scared

too lost

to stand up for myself, the truth and what I needed out of the relationships I have

but that was the OLD ANGIE..

I will not tolerate dishonesty, untruths, half-truths, kissing up to others so there is not any confrontation… on and on.

Today, we live in a world that is so lost as to what the true body of Christ should look like, act like and demand from others in an effort to better our world; we often just look the other way and don’t stand up for the TRUTH..

Truth always prevails. and that is certainly what I am counting on in my own life and the situations I am facing with those I am in contact with on a daily basis as well as those strained relationships that are in desperate need of restoration, repair and forgiveness as well as new roads to be paved for a better relationship.

As Christians I think we often believe that means we stand by and watch life continue to beat us up..

No, we are called to speak the truth, stand on the truth and demand the truth from others.. God doesn’t want wimpy Christians but He also doesn’t want Christians that look the other way because it is easier than standing up for the truth and for what is right.

I ask you today to think about situations you find yourself in on a daily basis or even a weekly basis..

What do you see in others?

Truth
Honesty
Morals
Ethics
Compassion
Empathy
Hard Working
Caring
Dependable

Are we not called to be those things in our own lives, so why would we accept any less from our friends, family and employees or employers?

I am just in a place in my own life that it must change…

I am on a different path than many others but that doesn’t mean I am any better or worse than someone else, but it does mean that I have a right to expect better from those I choose to have in my life.

I will not tolerate:
Dishonesty
Neglect
Two-faced
Backbiting
Drama filled
Evil Words Spoken
Negative
Rejection
Abuse
ANYMORE

4 comments

  1. Hi Angie. Great post! It reminds me of that Scripture that tells us we are to be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves (Matthew 10:16). You are right…it doesn’t mean we stand still and let life beat us up.

  2. Our pastor did a sermon on being tolerant Christians recently. What are we tolerating? “To tolerate sin is a sin.” But we still love. We speak the truth with love. He shared from Luke 23:34 and said he felt this was the most profound statement of tolerance in the Bible…””Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” I may not be making any sense. It’s that challenge to love, but also seek truth. Thanks for sharing Angie.

  3. It would be a lovely world if everyone took your words to heart and made their own pact. But we are in charge of our own space and I love the list. Joy is important to me and I believe that armed with your list we can improved our lives and those we allow in.

    Welcome to small group!
    Pamela

Leave a Reply

