The Journey

mikeandangie3

Mike and I will be celebrating our 30 year wedding anniversary in a few months. It is amazing when I think about how many years we have been together, because often times it seems like it was just yesterday that we began our lives together.

Where does the time go?

I look back and still remember the dress that I wore when we went to the Justice of the Peace to get married. I can describe the shirt and pants that Mike wore as well. Crazy..

It seems unreal to think about the reality that our oldest son is now 29 years old, married and has three children of his own.

Our youngest son is about to be 23 years old, lives on his own and making a life for himself.

I am thankful for the memories I have as their mother; both good and bad. Life as a mother is not easy.

I can remember the days of our youngest playing with his Thomas the Trains all day and night long. That little boy was so obsessed with his Thomas toys. In fact, today he can still name the trains and describes scenes from the television show and movies he loved to watch.

I can remember the days of our oldest playing Little Dribblers and playing with his dog Princess and Temptation. He was not much of a kid that liked to be inside the house, so more than not, he was outside with friends or riding his bike.

Even though there are certain aspects of life as a wife, mother and daughter, I would not trade my life as Mike’s wife, W and C’s mother or my life as Inetha’s granddaughter or D&S’s daughter. Life wasn’t always easy in any of those relationships and at times, still very painful, but God is still in control.

I have not understood everything that has happened, but are we suppose to really ever understood everything on this side of heaven?

I don’t believe so…

I wish I could have an answer from the Lord as to why?

My life as a child was so painful, stressful and anxiety filled.
My grandmother was murdered
My brother in law chose to take his own life
My in-laws chose to give up on life after the loss of their oldest son.
My family is so dysfunctional
My family is so dysfunctional
My family is so dysfunctional

Do you see a theme?/?
Ha.
We live in a fallen world that will let us down, cause us pain and lead us to question everything…Even our God.

If we are honest, we all have questions that have gone unanswered and we get upset because we want to understand…

God is the only one who will ever know the reasons behind what has happened…

Everything that happens is for our benefit; even loss. even pain.. even hurt… even dysfunction… we all live in this fallen world, even with God we are more than conquerors.

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.Romans 8:37

Praise God.. Nothing is lost in this life.

Even after 30 years of marriage to my husband, we have faced more than many others marriages survive going through. Yet, we have stood together, holding hands, as well as fighting through many battles, even at times fighting with each other, yet we never gave up. We kept putting one foot in front of the other, all the while standing on the Word of God that He would turn things around..

From humble beginnings at the ages of 16 and 18 years old, to a life 30 years later;

I STAND IN AWE…

I AM THANKFUL TO MY GOD FOR HIS CONTINUED GUIDANCE, LOVE, PROVISION AND HEALING..

I AM NOT DONE IN THIS LIFE AND I CONTINUE TO PRAY FOR RESTORATION IN OTHER AREAS OF MY LIFE AS WELL.

I want to offer you hope..
God is not done with you yet. Even if you think you have fallen away too far, done horrible things, reached the bottom…
No..
God is an author and finisher of what He has called us to do in this life. Nothing is lost. Nothing is wasted. Don’t give up..

Pray
Seek God
Love deeply
Forgive but have boundaries
Believe in Yourself
Believe the Word

Lord, help us to not forget where we have come from but Lord, help us to continue to seek the path YOU have set before us.

Each person’s path is different so don’t compare your walk with someone else’s. Stay connected to the power source: GOD…

Lay down the past because nothing can be changed, but don’t ever forget the lessons you learned from the past. It will help you or maybe you will have the opportunity to share your story with someone else that is struggling.

2 comments

  1. Hi Angie – If there’s one thing I’ve learned in blog-land, it’s that everyone has some kind of dysfunctional family 🙂 How sweet that your husband has been with you this entire journey, and for what lies on the road ahead. Sounds like true love and a wonderful example for those around you!

  2. Angie, thank you for sharing your heart. These are good words —>”God is an author and finisher of what He has called us to do in this life. Nothing is lost. Nothing is wasted. Don’t give up..” I’m so grateful God’s plan for my marriage prevailed. Happy almost 30 years to you and your husband. Much love to you.

Leave a Reply

