Scars Are Beautiful

Scars make us or break us.

Scars can change our outward appearance or change the deep recesses of our inner being, but regardless of the place the scars take place, God can and will provide healing if we reach out to HIM.

Scars have made me who I am today on many levels.

Scars from the pain of my childhood as well the wonderful benefits my childhood held. My childhood was not all bad or damaging, but sometimes the pain overrode the good.

Scars from life…

Scars from tragedies that have followed my family. ( Multiple suicides and the murder of my grandmother)

Scars from anxiety, overwhelming fear and eventual agoraphobia.

Can you relate?

I also have scars on my body from surgeries, accidents and just dumb mistakes that have changed my outward appearance.  Still, I  have to remember  even though I am not perfect physically, God still calls me beautiful. He doesn’t see the scars as negatives, but HE sees them as a positive because He knows those experiences taught me lessons I could not have learned any other way.

 

 

Scars make us into the people we are today; whether we want them to or not. Life can be tough and often we get beat up in the process of learning lessons and fighting the battles we must face.

Battles of everyday life but also the battles to overcome the damage others have inflicted upon us.

Yet, God never leaves us in the state of damage if seek HIM and HIS will for our lives.

We can and will overcome. Nothing is impossible with God.

For with God nothing will be impossible. Luke 1:37

Today, I want to offer you hope. God can use whatever path you have walked in this life; whether easy or tough. He wants to use your story to help someone else facing the same thing in their own life. If you keep quiet, who benefits from the losses you have faced?

The enemy. The old devil. The evil one. Whatever you want to call him. He wins when we keep quiet.

He is so happy when we keep quiet. He sits back and watches us while we continue to be ashamed, discouraged and stuck in our past.

Stand up today and face the past scars, all the while remembering that God can and will use your story.

I will not allow the enemy to steal anymore of my life. I lived a life full of fear, anxiety and agoraphobia for over 30 years. My life has been a small fragment of what I know God intended for it to be, so from this day forward:

MY SCARS ARE FOR GOD’S GLORY.

Lord, I ask for you to reach down today and help those struggling with issues from their past or pain inflicted from someone else. Those scars are so deep into our souls at times we often don’t even know who we are anymore. We only see ourselves through the lens of our scars, yet YOU designed us to live beyond the pain of this life. You want us to live abundant, joyful lives according to your Word. John 10:10 ( I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.) God has promised in HIS Word that HE can do more than we can think or imagine. Nothing is beyond HIS control or repair..  Ephesians 3: 20 (God can do anything, you know – far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.) MSG translation

Life is tough but as God’s children; we are tougher. I want to give you hope today that you can overcome whatever trials, fears, struggles, hurt or pain you are facing. God has done it for me in my own life and I know if HE can do it for me, then HE can do it for you as well.

Sending love and prayers your way today.

 

I WIN and YOU WIN 

 

17 comments

  1. Angie, I love your attitude! What especially resonated with me is, “If you keep quiet, who benefits from the losses you have faced?”….Powerful! That word needs to be shouted!
    Love,
    P.j.

  2. Scars are good… the first thing that came to mind as I began reading your post are the scars in Jesus’ body. After resurrection he still had His scars, and Thomas was able to see for himself the holes in Jesus’ hands.

    Your encouragement to look for those who are hurting is so needed, especially for the ones who are broken inside but look entirely normally from all outward appearances. So many people are hurting and suffering deep inside… even in places they cannot see, sometimes.

    Loving touches, whether online, on the phone, in the mail, or face-to-face go a long way! Love overcomes all evil 🙂

    This is a great post – I’m glad I met you at Beth’s place – Three Word Wednesday 🙂

  3. Dear Angie
    When we remember the scars in our Lord Jesus’ hands and keep in mind how necessary it was for the whole of humanity. When we remember the good that has come out of His scars and suffering for each one of us, we can look with new eyes at our own scars and use it to encourage others with the same encouragement we have received from our Pappa God!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  4. Wonderful, Angie! Scars are for God’s glory–yes! “The enemy. The old devil. The evil one. Whatever you want to call him. He wins when we keep quiet.”–We must speak out, healing and ministering are found when we do.

    This post fits in well with Jo Ann Fore’s just-released book, When A Woman Finds Her Voice. Read more at her site, joannfore.com. (Hope you don’t mind me passing on this link–your message and her’s just match perfectly.)

  5. Beautiful post! I have a huge scar from my second daughter’s birth…she was in distress so they had to get her out fast! I always think of it as a badge of love.
    Of course, there are some of the other kinds of scars, the inward kind. But God has healed them and now they’re a testimony of His work in me.

  6. There is a portion of the book Let Hope In that gives a similar message…”Hope through your scars.” “The wounds of our past have inevitably left scars. But the scars are only there to remind us that we are human. That we did survive. Those scars can be a reminder of the unique way we can embrace our past and in doing so shine the light of hope in a unique way into others’ lives.”
    Thank you for shining the light of hope my friend!
    Love you.

  7. I was so blessed to come here today. Thank you for reminding me that despite my scares (physical, emotional) that God loves me and that will never change.

Leave a Reply

