Love Is Safe

Love is Safe

Do you agree with that statement?

I know personally that for years I truly believed that love was painful, hurtful and full of anger, yet over the last 30 years of being married to Mike, I have learned a different definition of love.

Oh, of course our story has not been perfect or free from hurt or pain, but I know the definition I have learned from being with Mike, is totally different from the “LOVE” my parents, siblings and other extended family has shown me.

Their love was exhibited in anger, abuse, neglect and damage to others I love or have loved.

This is not LOVE.. This is Hate and not anything I want to be a part of.

The love I have learned in the last 30 years will never make up for the lack of love and acceptance I didn’t receive in my childhood or teenage years, but a life well lived is often the best revenge.

I will not lose any more of my life to people that only wish to hurt me.

What are your views on this? Do you agree or are you a person that feels we are to stay connected to family no matter what they do or say?

I believe my life is so much better than theirs that they just cannot handle the reality of it.

I am not boasting.. I am just stating a fact.

They do not want me healed, happy or whole, yet God has called me out the past fear, anxiety, and agoraphobia just for that reason. I truly believe if God and I had not a “meet to” I would not be in the place I am in at this time. I probably would be dead due to the mental anguish I was constantly in because of the fear and anxiety.

God did a huge work in the life of a sinner when He healed me from the past abuse, neglect and fear, but when He told me ” You cannot go back”, I knew that I had to have boundaries.

Love is Safe.

Not perfect; Just safe.

Today, I want to offer you hope. Nothing you have faced in the past or even today is ever wasted, but I also know that God does not want me or you to keep going back to the “waste”, but to move forward to the place God has called us to be today. The past is over and all we have is today. You and I are both more than conquerors with Christ in our corner. I keep pushing forward and seeking the will of God. The enemy keeps trying but I keep fighting. How about you? Are you going to give up or keep fighting? Our God is bigger than anything the enemy can throw at us. Don’t forget that.. Fight and Win…

4 comments

  1. I believe that God does not want you to stay in an unhealthy situation. But, I also believe that God calls us to love the unlovable… it’s what He did. I pray for God to give me wisdom about the difference between “throwing my pearls to swine” and “while we were yet sinners Christ loved.” It’s a delicate balance… I am thankful that He leads the way and gives me wisdom and a heart of forgiveness and grace. Without Him, there would be no real love anyway.

    This was a thought-provoking post. So glad I was linked up after you at Beth’s today. Blessings to you, my sister! 🙂

  2. Angie, I’ve been thinking of you and keeping you in my prayers. I do love how you share your heart. I loved Lyli’s comment to you on finding the balance. And I think we can also learn to love from a distance because you do need to do what is healthy for your continued walk with Him as well. I’m never sure I say things the way I’m intended but again, please know you are in my prayers. {Hugs} to you.

Leave a Reply

