Keep Walking

PicsArt_1385001700342

Photo Credit:

P. J. Di Benedetto

When we learned to walk as a baby, it was tough at times. We often fell down, cried or even through a fit, but over time we still learned to walk.

Our parents would offer us help and encouragement, but even that couldn’t teach us how to walk. Walking just basically required us “doing” the work to learn the process. One step at a time. Then one day we were walking more than a few step at a time and before long we were running with other children. Walking isn’t something we knew when we were born, but through trial and error, we eventually learned the steps to becoming more independent.

Now, when we think about the Christian walk. It is basically the same process. We don’t have any clue how to face the struggles life hands us, but over time we learn to use our faith even in the deepest pits of life. No life is a bowl of cherries. We all face hardships, difficulties and pain in this life;whether of our own doing or someone else’s. Life can hand us pain unimaginable at times. I know in my own life, I can certainly attest to that.

As a child I never knew how much pain I was carrying around because it seemed normal. Yet, over time the shoving the pain down began to manifest itself in the way of anxiety, fear, and eventually agoraphobia. This certainly was not the life I dreamed of as a child. Life became unbearable, yet I saw no way out. The roller coaster only intensified after the murder/suicide of my grandparents.

I am giving you that example because I can certainly relate to trials, pain and tragedies, yet over time I had to learn that my life wasn’t going to change unless I changed.

Changed my thoughts

Changed how I let the past control me

Changed relationships and the power they held

Began to trust and believe in myself

I can never change the pain of the past, the loss of loved ones to horrible tragedies, but I have learned that I must

Keep Walking

Even when it is hard

Even when the path is unclear

Even when the naysayers are loud

Even when the end seems so far away

Nothing in life is easy and usually the sweetest accomplishments are the hardest fought.

Praying for you today to feel God’s love and His peace. He has a wonderful plan for you. Love to each of you.

I am having a new website designed, so in a few weeks I will have a new landing. Hope you will check back often to see the new site.

Linking Up:

Essential Thing Devotions

My Freshly Brewed Life

3 comments

  1. As a child I never knew how much pain I was carrying around because it seemed normal.

    Me too, Angie. Isn’t it great to be adopted into His family…and although none of us brothers and sisters are perfect, we are trying and we know that we are all in this together and He will never let us go. Keep walking…YES AND AMEN…that’s all we can do. The way lies through the thorns…Blessings and Merry Christmas…

  2. Hi Angie! I am coming over from Still Saturday.

    Wow, what a life story. I appreciate how hard it must be to face your challenges and tell us about them too. Your advice to push through in spite of the challenges certainly comes from your hard-won experiences and I really admire that. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself, and giving me a good word today.

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Ceil

  3. This was very brave of you to share. Many of us have experienced deep, profound pain in our lives and yet through these times learn about the presence of God in the middle of our darkness.
    Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

Leave a Reply

