The Days are New

Well, 2014 has arrived.

Where has the time gone? I look back at this last year and it seems to have flown by.

As we grow older, the days seem to go by more quickly. As a small child, it seemed as though Christmas would never arrive, but now that I am in my 40’s Christmas arrives so much more quickly. It often feels like the days go by faster and faster, but some of that is due to how much our society stays connected with social media and the aspects of everyday life are so fast paced.

My grandmother would tell me stories of when she was a young mother and a new wife. She described how families and couples would connect through food and fellowship at one anothers homes. They would play cards or some form of board game. In today’s society, no one connects anymore. Everyone is too busy. We are all so focused on just making the ends meet and connecting with the ones closest to us, we neglect the friendships God has placed in our paths.

days are new

Photo Credit: P. J. Di Benedetto

I know I fall victim to the fast paced life as well.

My duties are as follows:

Part time job

Help hubby with his own business

Write for my website and other guest blog posts as well as my monthly magazine article

Attending church

Helping in-laws

Taking care of my own home and family

This is just a small sampling of my responsibilities, yet I still try to find time to spend with the few closest friends I have locally but I do fall short at times.

It really seems as though no one has free time anymore. Everyone stays so, so busy.

I know personally I struggle with finding time to rest and relax. I tend to feel guilty when I do rest because that usually means that some project or need is not getting my attention. Yet, God wants us to find time for peace, rest and relaxation. Not everything has to be accomplished at one time. We can rest today and the needs will be there tomorrow to focus on.

I am thankful that this new year is an opportunity for me to work on finding time to relax and rejuvenate myself. I need to seek God’s will and plan for my life but to do that, I must take the time to quiet my mind and heart. I cannot do that if I am always on the GO.

Today, I give you permission to REST and REJUVENATE your heart and mind. Nothing is so important in this world for us to lose ourselves and who God has called us to be.

Psalm 62: 1

Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from Him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Proverbs 6:10

A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest.

I love that little verse in Proverbs. Such a sweet sentiment.

I am thankful for DAYS OF NEW.

How about you?

What is your hope for the new year?

3 comments

  1. Beautiful, Angie. This has been on my mind too…I want to be more intentional about resting with Him and in devoting time to strengthen relationships with others. I’m guilty of allowing social media to distract me from both and I don’t want that to be the case in 2014.
    Praying for you friend.
    Happy New Year.
    Beth

  2. A great post and inspiration!
    My hope for the New year is that I can fully process everything that happened LAST year, and get back in the moment. But then I guess many of us feel a bit in over our heads! 🙂

Leave a Reply

