My One Word 2014

I have noticed much of the Internet has been a buzz about choosing a word to focus on for the year. Last year I read the book by Rachel Olsen, which was a great book. She offered some great ideas about listening to God and searching for the “right” word to focus on for the year.

In 2013, I focused on the word FREE. God has done amazing things in my life over the last year and the freedom I enjoy now is like night and day from the previous years. After living with anxiety and panic attacks, as well as agoraphobia most of my life, freedom always seemed elusive, yet over the last year and half, I have seen newness in the everyday.

The simple things of being able to be alone at home or driving the store alone, or going to Wal-Mart alone all seem like such simple things to others, yet they were so very difficult for me in the past. The freedom God has given me is so sweet and I am forever thankful.

The past few weeks I have been praying about the one word that I want to focus on and have several that felt like the “right” ones but then over time, it seemed that God was leading me in a new direction.

For about 18 months, there has been a very close relationship of mine that has been severed and often seemed beyond repair. My God has bigger plans though and this coming year I am going to focus on the word:

LOVE

Love

I want all I do to be done in love. I want every relationship I have to be seen through the filter of love; both mine and the Lord’s. I know God has brought me to a new place in my life as well as the relationships I currently have, but through the year of 2014, I want to have a deeper love for those God sends my way as well as the relationships I already have. I truly believe that the Lord is able to repair the severed relationship and when He does, I will once again have another wonderful testimony to tell others. Nothing is beyond God’s reach and this is the prayer of my heart for the coming year.

Psalm 107:2

Let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story- those He redeemed from the hand of the foe.

Just wait. It is going to happen. I know deep down in my heart.

Love connects

Love can restore and repair

Love is the ultimate sacrifice

Help me Lord to love others as well as myself as you want me to. Help the blinders to come off and see the wounds and the pain of others hearts. Help me to not be cold and distant, but warm and loving. You are the guiding force in my life everyday and I ask you to continue to lead me down the roads you have for me and to open the doors that need to be opened. Heal the pain of broken relationships and help us to bind to each others hearts as you have called us to do.

LOVE

Psalm 23: 6

Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

6 comments

  1. Angie, I really love this post, and your word for the year! Love sounds so simple, but is so very complex, isn’t it? God healed a close relationship this past year that had been severed for several years. I mourned it, I prayed about it, and finally I was ready to take that step in faith and love. I admit I was afraid, but God did wondrous things. It is not what it used to be, but it is better and it is stronger. Will be praying for you this year as you walk this wonderful and terrifying journey. Loved reading about your freedom this past year, too. Awesome!
    Thanks so much for linking up to Recommendation Saturday so that we could meet!
    Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

  2. Praying for you, friend. Love, love your word. This was my word two years ago and it truly had such a profound impact on my life. Oh, I’ve got goosebumps just thinking about what He will do in your life this year with this word.
    Much love to you.

  3. For this year I pick, perspective…yeah…I thought the same things, Lord why this word. But already two post into this word and my heart has already been blessed. Keeping a God centered perspective before me as I go about my daily chose or relationships will be a challenge. I will be back to check on how you are doing with your word.

  4. Your word for last year “Freedom” and its fulfillment was awesome! May Love go even further this year and bring mending into hurt lives. Thank you for sharing your awesome thoughts with us here at “Tell Me a Story.”

  5. LOVE

    What a hope filled word. I am excited to see how God will use this word so that you may bring glory to Him in mighty way. Thanks for stopping by and linking up! This was a beautiful inspiration!

Leave a Reply

