Goal Setting and the Writer’s Life

Some of my friends have been discussing the process of setting goals for the new year.

Do you find yourself setting goals or resolutions for the new year?

I do this on several different levels; both professionally and personally.

goals

Each December, I purchase a new journal to begin looking toward the new year. I pray about what I want to accomplish in the new year personally but I also seek God’s will for my life in the area of my professional career. I am a fairly new blogger/author and even though I have written for magazines and other websites, I still have not completed the book I am writing. That is one of the goals I have set for the year of 2014.

I want to focus on the writing of my book and also begin to speak at women’s conferences and churches in the coming year as well.

Working title: When Your Home becomes a Prison: My journey out of fear, anxiety and agoraphobia.

My story is a story that needs to be told and I believe that with a pen and paper in hand, I can make this dream a reality.

Another personal goal I have for the year is to lose some weight. Over the last 5 years, due to medication I have had to take, I have gained about 20 pounds. Not a huge amount but I just feel sluggish at times, so I plan on joining a gym and taking the time to work on myself.

I hope to at least tone up some as well as lose a little weight. Now that I don’t have to take any medication  maybe it will be somewhat easier. I am also joining a boxing club for women. I have attended before with my cousin and loved it.

From a spiritual standpoint, one of my goals is to focus on hearing the still, small voice of God in the everyday. I tend to get so busy and forget to listen.

Goals are helpful but that does mean we should get so focused on the goals, we don’t enjoy the journey.

Hebrews 4:12

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

God speaks to us through His Word and even in the process of goal setting; We must listen.

Our ultimate goal in this life should be to stay connected to the TRUE ONE who leads, guides and loves us.

As we move toward this new year, let us take the time to remember the places God has taken us from and through, but also seek the will of Him for the next step in our lives.

7 comments

  1. Thanks for joining us on the blog hop 🙂 I’m glad you’re planning to share your story, allowing God to help others. Your second goal is also something I’m working on – losing weight and getting more fit. Your third goal sums it all up for me. As we learn to wait on God, He guides us and helps us accomplish His will. I’m looking forward to seeing where our journey leads us 🙂

  2. Greetings, Angie! I love your encouragement to set goals without focussing on them so much we forget to enjoy the journey. The white noise of stress drowns out God’s quiet voice. Your book sounds good – a necessary message of hope. I wish you God’s blessing as you write for Him.

  3. Angie your book sounds interesting and one about which you’re passionate. I’m sure you’ll get it written. All the best in your lifestyle goals too. Our lives are complex,so that when we don’t feel good physically it affects the other parts.

Leave a Reply

