Love; My Word for 2014

Love requires action as well as patience. I often forget the last part of that sentence. Yet, when I decided to focus on the word LOVE for 2014, I want to remember that God loves me, so I need to love others with the same type of love.

This is often hard because I am human. I am certainly not perfect, nor am I GOD; the one and only creator of the universe. I am a flawed human being, who makes mistakes every day of my life. I tend to lose my temper too easily and often expect perfection of those in my life, yet I need to remember that these same folks are patient, loving and offer me grace on a daily basis.

I remember as a young mom I would fret and fret about trying to keep my house looking “perfect” which was almost impossible with two sons running around. I would beat myself up because the “perfect” I so wanted and dreamed of seemed to be impossible to obtain. I was often way too hard on my boys and made many mistakes in this situation as well as others. No person is a perfect parent either and I certainly know that I made huge mistakes. Things I regret. Things I wish I could take back. But all I can do is ask for forgiveness and apologize. Lessons are often hard learned.

Lessons in love are often hard learned.

Image

Growing up in a dysfunctional, none affectionate home, love was something I could not quiet comprehend, which also led to many hard lessons as a mother and wife.

Love was something I feared in many ways, yet so desperately wanted in my life. I wanted to experience the love of children and for my children to feel loved. To never doubt my love for them, but in many ways I failed. Life has a way of creeping in and causing the past to weave it’s way into the present. The past could not be held at bay any longer. The choices of those who committed suicide or took the life of my grandmother in a suicide/murder affected all of the family. Love was still an underlying presence but it was not the focus as it should have been. Life was hard and the road was rocky. Filled with stickers and lots of bumps, yet through it all the love I had for my husband and children never changed. It had always been in my heart, yet the enemy had used the painful circumstances to get my eyes focused on the hurt instead of the wonderful blessings I was privileged to have as part of my life.

Love is a word that is so full of meaning and often means different things to different folks.

LOVE

I want to be remembered as a woman, wife, mother and grandmother who never let the painful past to hold her down, nor allowed the enemy to continue to severe relationships that are meant to be for life.

The enemy will not be able to win this battle. LOVE will prevail and the lives of those torn away will be redeemed and restored. Relationships will win and the love I have for my family will always persevere.

God has a beautiful plan for LOVE in the lives of believers.

We must seek HIM and the plan HE has for our lives.

The plan HE has for my life is:
Restored relationships

Love abounding

and that the past will no longer have any power over my life or the lives of my family.

We are overcomers and the LORD has called us to be a family.

I pray that whatever you are facing today will not keep you bound to the past. Look to the Lord and always remember that if He calls you to it, He will help your through it. Life can be challenging at times but just because you are in a battle today does not mean that tomorrow the Lord can turn everything around. God is so powerful and He has such a blessed life for us as His children. Please don’t give up on the problem or challenge you are facing today. Continue to seek HIM and HIS plan. He will line it all up and everything will come together.

Linking Up:

http://ruthlsnyder.wordpress.com/

 

Leave a Reply

