The Past Has No Hold

The Past has no Hold

Other than the lessons it has taught me

and the pain I remember too well.

The Past has no hold

The lessons have been learned in the trenches and deep valleys, yet the lessons have been learned.

Proverbs 1: 5

Let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance.

Life often hands us real situations of pain, heartache and loss, yet even in those times we can learn.

One lesson I learned in a particularly trying, painful time was this:

Not everyone can be trusted

How about you?

Have you learned a hard lesson?

Lessons are part of life. We can learn the easy way or the hard way and often God literally has to knock us over the head to make the lesson clear. Our stubbornness can get in the way or often we are waist deep in the “murk” of life we don’t even see a problem. Over time our eyes will adjust along with our heart and the “problem” or lesson will become clear.

I have learned this in so many instances, yet when I mentioned learning that not everyone can be trusted has been a very hard lesson.

I so trusted this person. We had been friends for over 15 years, yet one day I found out that life wasn’t as I had originally thought.

I saw this friendship one way and apparently she saw it a different way.

The reality hit me square in the face one fateful day when something was said that I knew was not part of a healthy relationship. God had opened my eyes and heart to the facts.

The hard facts and a hard lesson.

I felt like I had wasted so much time with this person and now I can look back to see that much of the relationship was very one sided. (mine) She didn’t care about me like I had cared for her.

She wanted my life.

But she didn’t want me..

Only to live vicariously through me.

Over time I could see that she ultimately had ulterior motives which hurt so deeply.

Lessons were learned

But

The past has no hold

The friendships I have today mean more to me than this particular friendship. The friends I have today love me and treasure my heart. Love runs deep between my true friendships.

I cherish the life I have today and the lessons I have learned.

Yet, the past is over and the future is wide open.

Possibilities abound and I am waiting patiently to see where God takes me on this new journey.

Linking up with:

Simply Beth

Jennifer Dukes Lee

Beauty in His Grip

Juana Mikels

My Daily Walk in His Grace

Praying for you today that the past will have no hold on you, other than the lessons you have learned. The past is over and the future is full of possibilites. God has a huge plan for you and for me.

” God has a bigger plan for me than I have for myself.”

Hugs XOXO

2 comments

  1. I believe God will use every relationship we have to teach us something. I pray your current relationships will continue to be fruitful and ones that are a blessing to both. I know I am blessed by your friendship.
    Much love,
    Beth

  2. That is such a hard lesson to learn. I am just in the process of learning that, and it’s amazing how many times you may have to get hurt before you just accept it. Praying for your relationships right now and thanking God for the healthy and loving friendships we have, as well as the lessons others have taught us:)

Leave a Reply

