Life, even when …

WP-Header-New

Life goes on, even when..

What would your even when be?

I could fill that in with many words

Suicide

Murder

Anxiety

Fear

Agoraphobia

Painful Relationships

Dysfunction

But, even when I don’t understand, God does. I may not ever know the reasons why certain circumstances or aspects of life have happened the way they have, but even when I don’t, there is still a plan and purpose.

I may never understand why my grandmother was murdered by my grandfather in 1996. I may never understand why I suffered so many, many years with anxiety, fear and agoraphobia. I may never understand the painful relationships. But God does.

Yet, I have to choose to believe that God will not waste any pain or heartache or joy  in the big scheme of His plan for me or my life.        I wish I could understand this side of heaven, but I still trust in HIM and HIS plan. I do not claim that this is always easy at times but still I believe it is the best way.

Psalm 115

Certainly, in this fallen world, we all face heartaches and struggles, but I can attest that I have often felt beyond God’s reach. I have felt forgotten and alone. Even in the church, I have felt this way. Pushed aside. Lonely and fearful. Afraid to leave my home, yet often afraid of being in my home. A life of an agoraphobic is tragic and painful.

suffering-smaller-770x475

” If you can’t be thankful for what you receive, be thankful for what you escape.” Click to Tweet

Sometimes the only answer is:

Lord you are Sovereign. That may be all you can offer now as well. That is enough while you wait for the next step in your journey. He hasn’t forgotten you.

Or me.

” He who limps still walks.” Stainslaw Lec

Sharing at:

Sandra Heskaking

 Essential Things Devotions

Beauty in His Grip

Janis Cox

4 comments

  1. So glad you choose to believe through the unimaginable that we could never understand in this life. Such a powerful testimony, Angie.
    Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

  2. I love that quote…” If you can’t be thankful for what you receive, be thankful for what you escape.” I don’t have a Twitter account, so I just will enjoy it here and share it on my Facebook page! Wonderful post!

  3. Your tweetable quote brought to mind something that I’ve thought often. I know this is a much lighter subject than the issues that you wrote about here, but do you ever find yourself stuck in traffic or behind a really slow car? It usually happens on a day when we want to be someplace now! What I’ve realized is…God has me right where He wants me to be. Maybe the slow car or the traffic is there because He is protecting me from something…an accident up ahead? A speeding ticket? Yes, I am definitely thankful for what I’m escaping!

    Powerful post, Angie!

    Blessings, Joan

Leave a comment